I just completed a new Christmas stocking for a newborn named Lucas.

After a brief discussion with his mom about a train design, I came up with this rough sketch:

Untitled

Next I cut out the felt, sewed on the front half of the cuff, and the heel/toe triangles. Then I added the train track with glitter glue, and cut out most of the train cars and the engine.

Untitled

The mom sent photos of her son and two of his favorite toys (“dragon” and “puppy”), who are now on the train, as well as some pine trees.

Untitled

Next I added the name and embellished it with an assortment of sequins and beads.
Untitled

The reveal!

Lucas train stocking

Detail of the finished stocking includes snowy pine trees with beads and star-shaped sequins, and train cars and caboose details including embroidery, sequins, beads, and glitter.

Untitled

Here is Lucas the Elf driving the train with his friends. His hat is trimmed with a wee jingle bell, and the train wheels are vintage work clothes buttons.

Untitled

I love to make stockings!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I like you…do you like Heather Donohue Crafts? Why not proclaim our mutual like to the world by liking Heather Donohue Crafts on Facebook?

