My four-year-old daughter and I made some clothespin dolls together. I’ve had the supplies in my stash for years, surprising no one.

We used:

  • Clothespins
  • Fabric swatches
  • Ribbon
  • Sharpies
  • White glue
  • Glitter glue
  • Scissors
  • Pliers

Clothespin doll-making supplies

The swatches were from an estate sale of a fabric designer. (I even found some painted swatches that were later printed into fabric. Very pre-computer.)

Cutting the dress for a clothespin doll

A fabric was selected, then a dress-sized swatch was cut.

Trimming the clothespin doll sash

A face was drawn in marker, a little glue was added to the body, then a dress was wrapped around the form. A ribbon sash to keep it in place was tied and trimmed.

Adding the pipecleaner hair

Pipe-cleaner hair was formed, snipped, then glued in place.

Gluing the dress in place

A hair bow and glitter-glue embellishment finish the look.

So that’s the clothespin-ladies look for Spring 2013.

