Heidi Kenney at My Paper Crane is a font of awesome ideas, and her latest was to facilitate a regional candy swap. Participants were paired up and asked to select and ship at least $15 worth of local treats. An incredible assortment of Japanese sweetness (and Ghirardelli chocolate, which I forgot to photograph) found its way from San Francisco to Jersey, thanks to Jessica Coates.

Image

I decided to go hyper-local and Jersey by selecting made-in-house chocolates from Holsten’s, the ice cream parlor where the last scene of The Sopranos was shot. (Jessica gets to photograph and blog about what I sent her.)

We also decided to include a small hand-crafted item; I received the sweet plush house ornament, bottom-right in the photo. I sent a velvet acorn ornament.

Thanks Heidi, that was fun!

