easter_mantle2.jpg

This is the first year I’ve decorated for Easter since I was a kid. I like Easter, what with the fluffy bunnies and chocolates and the promise of Spring, but I never felt the urge to do much more than put together Easter baskets or care packages for loved ones. Then, two years ago, my maternal grandmother passed away. Catherine Gagnon was a major crafting influence–she taught me the granny square, made custom Sunshine Family doll clothes and Thanksgiving-themed nut cups–I could go on and on.

Last year the loss of Gram was too fresh. This is the first year I’ve felt ready to display and enjoy the Easter treasures that decorated her home. These fantastic hens with parasols would grace the dining room windowsill; I’d go over to her house and we’d blow eggs and decorate them for posterity. (Five such eggs are now strung over my mantle.) We miss you Gram, but your spirit lives on!

After the holiday, I will repack many of these treasures in the Velveeta box whence they came. Reusing Velveeta boxes for storage. That was “so Gram.”

easter_chicks.jpgeaster_bunnies.jpgeaster_hens.jpg

