Two, two acorns....Muah-ha-haaaa.

Sunday’s weather was fantastic for pale-skinned people such as myself to spend time outside without fear of becoming one huge freckle. I have lots of crafting in the works for my sister’s October 7th wedding, but didn’t want to spend any more time inside my craftin’ quarters while it was so loverly outside, so I packed up wedding favor fixin’s and sat outside.

I took the opportunity to catch up on a few CraftSanity podcasts, and one happened to cover ‘The Art of Crafts’ portion of the 2007 BlogHer conference in Chicago. Clearly I would be interested in just the blogs-on-crafts angle, but there was an easter egg…Amy Sedaris was also on the panel! She doesn’t blog, but they included her for the crafts angle. Amy is a delight, and as usual, weird and hilarious. (Well, to me she’s not weird, but civilians might think she is.) The takeaway is: if you like crafts and you like Amy, you must check out this podcast.

I’m making something like 150 velvet acorn-and-leaf placecards; shown here are some orange and brownish acorns. I also wrapped 70 pieces of floral wire in brown floral tape because the right color of brown floral wire doesn’t appear to exist. I’ve checked the craft stores, the flower district in New York and online and can’t find freaking brown floral wire, so I had to make it myself. I got into a groove and was twistin’ and stretchin’ like a pro.

One, one acorn....Muah-ha-haaaa.

Ceci n’est pas un acorn. (Okay, “acorn” in French is “gland.”)

