I got a fair amount of crafting done this weekend on the velvet acorn placecard favors I’m making. Here is the beginning of burgundy velvet acorns, shown here strung in a garland, which is what they look like as they start to take shape. Below the garland is the first batch of oak leaves. I haven’t found faux nor preserved leaves to suit this purpose, so I end up making them myself.

acorn_favor_parts.JPG

I gathered natural oak leaves, found a few shapes I especially liked, traced them onto a plastic takout container lids, then cut them out to use as a template. I have three shapes I’m using, just to mix it up a little. I then glued floral-tape-covered wire “stems” to each leaf. Later in the process, I will vein and curl them, and write one guest’s name on each leaf.

craft_oak_leaves.JPG

