My friend Maureen tagged me to play along with this meme, and since I think it’s kind of interesting to create this personal inventory and share it with others, I agreed.

First, the background.
1. Post the rules of the game at the beginning.
2. Each player answers the questions about themselves.
3. At the end of the post, the player then tags five people and posts their names, then goes to their blogs and leaves them a comment, letting them know they’ve been tagged and asking them to read the player’s blog.
4. Let the person who tagged you know when you’ve posted your answer.

What were you doing five years ago?
Interviewing for a new web producer job, and planning an exodus from Brooklyn to leave behind the ever-increasing noise, expense and lack of personal greenspace there. (And yes, I miss Bklyn sometimes.)

What are five things on your to-do list for today?
1. Mail prints of wedding photos (9 years later, but who’s counting?)
2. Doctor appointment
3. Review doula contract and paperwork
4. Roll over 401(k)
5. Answer work email

What are five snacks you enjoy?
1. Peanut Butter
2. Ice Cream (with peanut butter, when possible)
3. Chocolate (Ritter Sport, See’s nuts-n-chews, Jacques Torres)
4. Gummy candy, especially cola bottles
5. Jamba Juice

What are five things you would do if you were a billionaire?
1. Set up a 501c3, initiate a call for submissions from needy people, review their stories, and set up money and support to make their wishes a reality.
2. Take my crafts business to the next level…hiring a shop to refresh and maintain my website for me would be a good start.
3. Work part-time instead of full-time
4. Exercise more (could I pay someone to do it for me?)
5. Gather momentum around addressing work/life balance issues for humankind

What are five of your bad habits?
1. Procrastination (it took me weeks to sit down and do this list)
2. Multitasking to the point of ridiculousness
3. Excessive complaining
4. Not pushing myself as hard as I think I should (On second thought, if I compare myself to the American Idol-worshipping masses, I’m coming out ahead.)
5. Being too self-absorbed. I’m getting better in this department, but I’m still no Amy B.

What are five places where you have lived?
1. a London studio-sized flat, with two other roommates. You had to pay for electricity via a coin-operated mechanism–It was “exciting” to find you needed to plug the thing ASAP since the fridge was getting warm…
2. A handful of college and post-college apartments in Madison, WI
3. With exchange families in Germany, mostly Dusseldorf
4. Suburban Plymouth, MN and Montclair, NJ
5. The Village and Brooklyn, NYC

What are five jobs you’ve had?
1. Staff writer, The Onion
2. Web Producer, Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia
3. Craft designer, gradeschool – current
4. McDonald’s: counter, drive through, grill, birthday-party-host, you name it.
5. Handarbeiter: Institute for German Studies. The most memorable part of the job was splitting and stacking firewood. Lots of it.

Five people I tag:
‘sconnyboy
-tk
-You, if you want to play along!

