I braved an estate sale this morning in nearby Glen Ridge, NJ, and scored some great finds. I always look for Christmas first, then the sewing/craft/notion-y stuff. I also enjoy guessing the backstory of homes I’m “ransacking.” I’m guessing this one belonged to an old couple, including a clotheshorse woman with a heavy, old-school crafting bent, and her husband, who used to wile away hours in the basement workshop. Baby food jars narrower than what you find today lined two of the four walls, neatly showcasing hundreds of nuts, bolts, screws and nails.

On one floor was a suitcase filled with handmade, smocked girls’ dresses, and in the sewing room you could find remnants of the dress fabric. Some rooms on the top floor of the home had slanted ceilings with the kind of lovely, delicate-patterned wallpaper that you hope the next owners won’t tear down but probably will.

Here are some of the treasures I found:

Vintage Christmas stash

From right to left: Spun-cotton santas, snowman, and random guy; a herd of mica reindeer and mica santa/sleigh; Six mica elves that would be fantastic in a display or on a Bûche de Noël; and two painted wooden Santas.

Vintage Macy's Christmas box

I was rifling through notions and got this sweet box of ric rac and seam binding ribbon. Once I decided to buy it, I put the lid on, only to find it is a suuuper sweet vintage Christmas box from Macy’s!

vintage tulle hair accessories

Four vintage tulle hair accessories in great condition. I might use the black ones in my Halloween decor this year.

