Profile of spun cotton kids on a reindeer

Photos by Crystal Hanehan

Close-up of spun cotton kids on a reindeer

Last year I commissioned Crystal Hanehan of Vintage by Crystal to make me one of her wonderful vintage-inspired spun cotton figures. It was hard to decide what to love more…the little people she makes, or the little animals. So I chose both.

Based on other figures I had seen at her booth at the first Martha Stewart craft sale, I gave her an idea of what I was looking for. I sent over digital files of my kids’ faces, which she incorporated into the final piece. After a few emails back and fourth, she sent over these photos for a sneak preview of what I could expect in the mail a short while later.

I love the final piece…as will my kids, when they’re old enough to see it without wanting to hug or otherwise squish it.

