During my recent family roadtrip to the family farm, I was working on a batch of plush mushrooms in new color combinations:

Plush mushrooms in progress

I will forever love the traditional red and white, but thought hot pink and orange would be lovely palette-fresheners. These guys are about three inches tall.

Imagine my reaction when, on a walk through the forest on the family property, I accidentally uncovered these!

Mushroom muses

They were a little over two inches tall, with one super-small one that was a quarter that size. There are also hundreds and hundreds of ferns on the property, which normally make me think of some bedsheets my parents had in the 70’s, but now I feel I have moved past that and can enjoy ferns for their beauty without that strange association.

Mushrooms, bottoms up

The worm’s eye view

Mushrooms

Another look at the tops. The one second-to-left had very clear white dots on it. Swoon….

Finding these mushrooms on family property made me feel like the universe was smiling at me.

