As a kid, the month of December seemed to crawl along, though it was full of the same advent-calendar-opening, Christmas-special-watching, cookie baking, shopping, decorating, and crafting I do nowadays. Why does time move so much faster now? Might have something to do with the couple of kids around here now. I don’t even know how many ornaments I had to reglue and repair this year, thanks to Hurricane Lachlan, one of the two 3-year-olds in residence.

At any rate, I wanted to share a couple of new ornaments I made in December:

First Christmas Baby ornament

This is a Baby’s First Christmas ornament, inspired by Irmi Nursery Originals and Erzgebirge figures, and a similar ornament I used to make as a child. I painted a bead for the baby’s head, and tucked him into a walnut shell bed with cotton and felt “linens.”

Scotch Egg Christmas Ornament

This one is just plain weird, so let’s just get that out of the way upfront. It’s a Scotch Egg, about two inches in diameter, created to commemorate the “247th anniversary” of a Christmas party I’m lucky enough to attend each year, where homemade scotch eggs figure into the menu. It has a dusting of glitter because it’s an ornament, after all.

Scotch Egg Christmas Ornament

And the back side view, with the date span.

This year the kids got to help with the photo ornament we now send to the closest family members each year, but that will have to wait for a future blog post because I keep forgetting to take photos during the 39 seconds of daily natural light we have in the dead of winter.

